Real Madrid to play consecutive European Cup finals for first time in 57 years

12 May 2017

Following their 4-2 win on aggregate against fierce rivals Atletico Madrid, Real Madrid have advanced to their 15th European Cup final.

Los Blancos are set to play in Cardiff their second Champions League final in as many years after they defeated their crosstown foes in Milan in May of last year, thanks to a penalty shootout.

The last time Madrid reached back-to-back finals in the top European club competition dates back to 1960, when they ousted Eintracht Frankfurt 7-3.

Bayern Munich were the latest squad to participate in two successive finals, losing the 2011/12 event to Chelsea but beating Borussia Dortmund the season after.

Furthermore, Zinedine Zidane has joined the exclusive list of coaches who have led a team to two straight deciders, next to the likes of Arrigo Sacchi and Jupp Heynckes.

The Frenchman is the third Madrid boss to do so, following the steps of Jose Villalonga (1955/56 and 1956/57) and Luis Carniglia (1957/58 and 1958/59).

Club legends like Miguel Munoz (1959/60, 1961/62, 1963/64 and 1965/66) and Vicente del Bosque (1999/00 and 2001/02) also reached multiple finals, although not in consecutive years.

The 11-time European Cup winners have only won two of those trophies in odd years, as they bested Fiorentina in 1957 and Stade Reims in 1959. Furthermore, they lost the 1981 final versus Liverpool.

The 2014 UEFA Super Cup is Los Blancos’ lone precedent in Cardiff, which they won 2-0 over Sevilla on the back of a Cristiano Ronaldo brace.

Next Match

Should Real Madrid include Vinicius in Mbappe transfer deal?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
Leo Messi 23 Goals Barcelona
Karim Benzema 21 Goals Real Madrid
Gerard Moreno 20 Goals Villarreal
L. Suárez 19 Goals Atlético Madrid
Youssef En-nesyri 16 Goals Sevilla
Lewandowski 10 Goals Bayern Munich
Haaland 8 Goals RB Salzburg
Harry Kane 6 Goals Tottenham Hotspur
Son Heung-min 5 Goals Tottenham Hotspur
Sterling 5 Goals Manchester City