Luka Modric wins 2019 Golden Foot award

13 Nov 2019

Luka Modric travelled to Monaco to collect the 2019 Golden Foot award, which is given to successful players over the age of 29.

The Croatian became the 17th player to receive the prize, with the first having been awarded to Roberto Baggio in 2003 whilst the Italian was plying his trade at Brescia.

“It is an honour for me to receive this award,” Modric said.

“I am returning to my best level, as I showed in the last game.

“There are seven very important matches until the end of the year and we will try to keep playing well.”

Spanish players have won the Golden Foot on two occasions, with Andres Iniesta in 2014 and Iker Casillas three years later, while Paris Saint-Germain player Edinson Cavani was the last to collect it in 2018.

Next Match

Should Real Madrid include Vinicius in Mbappe transfer deal?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
Leo Messi 23 Goals Barcelona
Karim Benzema 21 Goals Real Madrid
Gerard Moreno 20 Goals Villarreal
L. Suárez 19 Goals Atlético Madrid
Youssef En-nesyri 16 Goals Sevilla
Lewandowski 10 Goals Bayern Munich
Haaland 8 Goals RB Salzburg
Harry Kane 6 Goals Tottenham Hotspur
Son Heung-min 5 Goals Tottenham Hotspur
Sterling 5 Goals Manchester City