Florentino Perez has dismissed 13 coaches in 16 years

30 Oct 2018

Santiago Bernabeu is about to be equalled as the Real Madrid president with the largest number of coaches dismissed, after Florentino Perez sacked Julen Lopetegui.

While Lopetegui is the 71-year-old businessman’s thirteenth coach to be fired, the former Los Blancos president dismissed 16 in his 34 years of presidency.

Bernabeu‘s point of view dictated that the coaches should only be released in case they resigned.

However, of those he appointed over the years, only Miguel Munoz managed to stay for 14 seasons.

Ramon Encinas, Jacinto Quincoces and Baltasar Albeniz (in two tenures), Michael Keeping, Hector Scarone, Juan Antonio Ipina, Enrique Fernandez, Jose Villalonga, Luis Carniglia, Manuel Fleitas Solich, Munoz, Luis Molowny (two spells) and Miljan Miljanic were those dismissed in his era.

Perez, in his first tenure are Real Madrid president (2000-2006), canned six coaches.

Vicente del Bosque stayed for three years, but in the next three, the team was coached by Carlos Queiroz, Jose Antonio Camacho, Mariano Garcia Remon, Vanderley Luxemburgo and Juan Ramon Lopez Caro.

Between 2009 and 2018 Manuel Pellegrini, Jose Mourinho, Carlo Ancellotti and Zinedine Zidane completed their contracts, while Rafael Benitez and Lopetegui have been shown the exit door.

Lorenzo Sanz‘s presidency, from 1995 to 2000, was a period of great instability with Jorge Valdano, Vicente del Bosque, Arsenio Iglesias, Fabio Capello, Jupp Heynckes, Jose Antonio Camacho, Guus Hiddink, John Toshack and del Bosque following each other on the bench.

Next Match

Should Real Madrid include Vinicius in Mbappe transfer deal?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
Leo Messi 23 Goals Barcelona
Karim Benzema 21 Goals Real Madrid
Gerard Moreno 20 Goals Villarreal
L. Suárez 19 Goals Atlético Madrid
Youssef En-nesyri 16 Goals Sevilla
Lewandowski 10 Goals Bayern Munich
Haaland 8 Goals RB Salzburg
Harry Kane 6 Goals Tottenham Hotspur
Son Heung-min 5 Goals Tottenham Hotspur
Sterling 5 Goals Manchester City