Cadena COPE: Real Madrid to be part of European Super League from 2024

22 Mar 2019

Spanish radio station Cadena Cope report that as many as sixteen European clubs with Real Madrid among them will be founding a new major continental club tournament, the so-called European Super League. The grand scheme behind the new format of the competition is to move the games of Premier League, La Liga, Serie A and other national competitions to mid-week, thus freeing the weekends for the games of European Super League.

Cadena Cope report that this idea was thoroughly discussed at a meeting of the European Club Association (ECA) with its chairman, Juve’s Andrea Agnelli particularly enthusiastic about pushing it through.

Earlier reports suggested that UEFA managed to prevent such a move by agreeing to a “memorandum of understanding” with ECA. President of the main European football body Aleksander Ceferin said: “I am delighted that we have reached such an agreement and that we – as Europe’s football governing body – and European clubs will continue to work closely together to further promote, ¬develop and shape the future of football across the continent.”

Yet, it seems like the discussions have not stopped and the top-clubs, including Chelsea, Arsenal, Liverpool, Man City, Man United and Real Madrid are determined to kick-start the Super League after 2024 when the memorandum becomes null and void.

The new tournament will supposedly start in 2024 and 32 teams will compete in it. Promotions and relegations are planned, but not for the founding members. TV rights’ worth is projected to be around €900m per year. The rest of the clubs in the talks are Real Madrid, Atletico Madrid, Barcelona, Paris Saint Germain, Olympique Lyon, Borussia Dortmund, Bayern Munich, Inter, Roma, Juve and AC Milan.

Next Match

Should Real Madrid include Vinicius in Mbappe transfer deal?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
Leo Messi 23 Goals Barcelona
Karim Benzema 21 Goals Real Madrid
Gerard Moreno 20 Goals Villarreal
L. Suárez 19 Goals Atlético Madrid
Youssef En-nesyri 16 Goals Sevilla
Lewandowski 10 Goals Bayern Munich
Haaland 8 Goals RB Salzburg
Harry Kane 6 Goals Tottenham Hotspur
Son Heung-min 5 Goals Tottenham Hotspur
Sterling 5 Goals Manchester City