Andujar: “The referee was right not to award Athletic Club a penalty”

05 Jul 2020

Real Madrid defeated Athletic Club 1-0 on Sunday and did so thanks to a Sergio Ramos penalty that refereeing expert Juan Andujar Oliver believes was correctly awarded.

Athletic Club, though, called for a spot kick of their own shortly afterwards.

They believed Ramos fouled Raul Garcia, but no penalty was given and Andujar believes this non-call was also the right decision.

“Unlike for the penalty for the 1-0, Sergio Ramos‘ step on Raul Garcia was unintentional,” Andujar explained.

Next Match

Valencia vs Real Madrid (On time)

POLL

Should Real Madrid include Vinicius in Mbappe transfer deal?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
TOP SCORERS
Leo Messi 23 Goals Barcelona
Karim Benzema 21 Goals Real Madrid
Gerard Moreno 20 Goals Villarreal
L. Suárez 19 Goals Atlético Madrid
Youssef En-nesyri 16 Goals Sevilla
Lewandowski 10 Goals Bayern Munich
Haaland 8 Goals RB Salzburg
Harry Kane 6 Goals Tottenham Hotspur
Son Heung-min 5 Goals Tottenham Hotspur
Sterling 5 Goals Manchester City
SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER