26 Nov 2016

Real Madrid have again set the international standard, marking this era by winning two European Cups. In 2014, they lifted la Décima, before going on to lift the Club World Cup in the same year, and in 2016 they clinched la Undécima. Zidane, in his first season as coach, has enhanced his legendary status at the club by winning this latest Champions League title. At the start of his second season the third madridista European Super Cup arrived.

Beginnings with Mourinho

In the first few years of this new decade three trophies were added to the cabinet by José Mourinho’s Real Madrid. The most notable was the 2011-12 Liga title, which they won with a record-breaking 100 points, the highest score achieved in the history of the championship at that stage, and 121 goals. They also beat Barcelona to clinch a Copa del Rey and a Supercopa de España.

Ancelotti's arrival and La Décima

In June 2013, Carlo Ancelotti arrived at Real Madrid. The Italian won four trophies with the Whites, the first coming in the shape of Real Madrid’s nineteenth Copa del Rey, after beating Barcelona 1-2 in the final. On 24 May 2014, Madrid lifted the European Cup once again, claiming La Décima with a 4-1 victory over Atlético in Lisbon. Goals from Ramos, Bale, Marcelo and Cristiano secured the triumph. Two further successes came in Ancelotti’s second season: The European Super Cup win over Sevilla and Real Madrid’s first Club World Cup triumph against San Lorenzo. That concluded a historic 2014, making it Real Madrid’s best year in terms of titles.

Zidane's era and 3 Champions League trophies

In January 2016, Zidane became first team coach following a legendary career at the club as a player. His first season ended with victory over Atlético in Milan to clinch la Undécima. In August 2016 the third European Super Cup arrived. After winning the Champions League in Cardiff (2017) and Kiev (2018), Zidane’s Real Madrid became the first team to win three consecutive Champions Leagues in the new era of the competition. Apart from this historic achievement, Real Madrid became also the first team to win three consecutive Club World Cup trophies in 2016, 2017 and 2018.

Next Match

Athletic vs Real Madrid (On time)


Which player do you prefer?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
Leo Messi 23 Goals Barcelona
Karim Benzema 21 Goals Real Madrid
Gerard Moreno 20 Goals Villarreal
L. Suárez 19 Goals Atlético Madrid
Youssef En-nesyri 16 Goals Sevilla
Lewandowski 10 Goals Bayern Munich
Haaland 8 Goals RB Salzburg
Harry Kane 6 Goals Tottenham Hotspur
Son Heung-min 5 Goals Tottenham Hotspur
Sterling 5 Goals Manchester City