22 Nov 2016

Figo, Beckham, Zidane, Ronaldo… The best players in the world joined the Club and formed one of the most spectacular teams in history. The Santiago Bernabéu was expanded and the new Real Madrid City in Valdebebas was built. The crowning moment was the Club’s ninth European Cup title.

The King of Spain, Honorary Centenary President

In the prelude to the celebrations of the Real Madrid Centenary, Florentino Pérez and the Board of Directors unanimously agreed to offer His Majesty the King of Spain the Honorary Centenary President distinction. The monarch accepted the honorary presidency with his habitual modesty.

A Centenary riddled with successes

The Club Centennial took place in 2002 and attracted worldwide acclaim. From the sporting perspective, Real Madrid won their ninth European Cup after defeating Bayer Leverkusen in Glasgow 2-1; the first European Super Cup against Feyenoord (3-1) and their third Intercontinental Cup beating Club Olimpia by 2-0 in Tokyo. One could not have wished for a better 100-year anniversary.

Florentino Pérez resigns

On 27 February 2006, Florentino Pérez irrevocably resigned his Presidential post. Fernando Martín became the acting President, followed by Luis Gómez Montejano, who in turn called summer Presidential elections.

Ramón Calderón elected President

The Real Madrid presidency was disputed by five candidates, Ramón Calderón, Juan Palacios, Juan Miguel Villar Mir, Lorenzo Sanz and Arturo Baldasano. Following the 2 July 2006 vote, Ramón Calderón was elected President after having won the in-person vote.

Capello's comeback

On 5 July 2006, Fabio Capello signed for Real Madrid for the second time in his life. The Italian manager asked for and got the signings of Cannavaro, Emerson, Diarra, Reyes and Van Nistelrooy. The winter transfer window saw three new players join the Whites: Marcelo, Higuaín and Gago.

Death of Puskas

Ferenc Puskas Biro died on 17 November 2006 from an illness he had been suffering from for a long time; he was 79 years old.

League champions

The ‘Together we can, together we stand’ campaign worked wonders and got the fans and the team to stand together and eventually win the Club’s 30th football League title. The Whites won the title after an impressive comeback against Mallorca the last day of the competition (3-1).

ACB Champions

One week later, the Basketball team also won its 30th League title by defeating Barcelona in the playoffs at the Palau Blaugrana. Pamesa and Joventut also fell against them on their road to victory. Felipe Reyes earned MVP honors in the final.

Back to Back league titles

The 2007/08 season began with a new project under new head coach Bernd Schuster and several new faces in the lineup: Robben, Heinze, Sneijder, Drenthe, Saviola, and Metzelder. Real Madrid took hold atop the table in Matchday 2 with a 0-5 victory over Villarreal, a position they never abandoned throughout the year. The Whites ended the campaign as the highest scoring (84 goals) and the least scored upon (36) team. They also established a new La Liga record by notching 85 points, 18 more than third place Barcelona.

8th Spanish Super Copa

After winning their second consecutive league title, Real Madrid faced Valencia in the Spanish Super Cup prior to the start of the 2008/09 season. Valencia won the first leg 3-2, but despite falling behind in the return leg at Bernabeu, the Whites mounted an incredible turn around to claim their eighth Spanish Super Cup.

Florentino Perez begins second term as President

Florentino Perez returned to the presidency of Real Madrid on 1 June 2009 during an election campaign in which he ran unopposed, perhaps due to the overwhelming support of members as evidenced by several polls taken by media. Under the slogan “Excitement Returns”, the Florentino Perez candidacy brought about a sense of optimism that helped raise spirits after experiencing the dominance displayed by Barcelona.

Next Match

Athletic vs Real Madrid (On time)


Which player do you prefer?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
Leo Messi 23 Goals Barcelona
Karim Benzema 21 Goals Real Madrid
Gerard Moreno 20 Goals Villarreal
L. Suárez 19 Goals Atlético Madrid
Youssef En-nesyri 16 Goals Sevilla
Lewandowski 10 Goals Bayern Munich
Haaland 8 Goals RB Salzburg
Harry Kane 6 Goals Tottenham Hotspur
Son Heung-min 5 Goals Tottenham Hotspur
Sterling 5 Goals Manchester City